Walt Murr Award

Each year during the prize presentation portion of the Greater Jacksonville Kingfish Tournament, a special volunteer is honored with a very special award.

Named in honor of one of the Tournament’s founding members and the first Executive Director, Walt Murr, the award is presented to a volunteer who best exemplifies the “can-do” attitude its namesake was noted for.

“Walt was one of the tournament’s biggest boosters,” recalled Jacksonville Marine Charities Board member Pete Loftin. “In addition to being one of the Tournament’s founding members, he was probably its biggest advocate. He traveled to countless other established fishing tournaments and generated interest in our event.

“Walt was the type of guy who made everyone feel welcome and appreciated,” Loftin noted of the public relations whiz. “He played a major role in the early success of the tournament. It was only fitting that his role, unselfishness and total dedication to the tournament be remembered after his passing with the establishment of the Walt Murr Volunteer Award.”

The inaugural Walt Murr Award was presented in 1987 and honors the outstanding volunteer as chosen by the Tournament Chairman and the four Vice Chairman during the annual Tournament.

The Tournament Chairman solicits nominees from the Vice-Chairman, which are then passed to the Board of Directors, who make the annual selection. Congratulations to the following Greater Jacksonville Kingfish Tournament Volunteers whose dedication and efforts resulted in their being named Walt Murr Award winners:

1987   Bob Medley
1988   Al & Joan Lancaster
1989   Pete Loftin
1990   Doodles Cinotti
1991   Edgar Ochs
1992   John Lees
1993   Brenda Ochs
1994   Jim Ingalls
1995   Carl DiSalvo
1996   Jimbo Crumley
1997   Joe Tomlinson

1998  Tom Fulmer

2002   Sheryl Rohn
2003   Dennis Collins
2004   JoAnn Preston
2005   Charlie Smith
2006   Rita Contos
2007   John Edenfield

2008   Wally Brown

2009   Barry Lancaster

2010   John Laforge

2011   Larry Rouse

2012   Liz Jeffers

2013 Douglas Felton

2014 Cooper Stout

1999  Peggy Collins 2015 Warren Smith
2000   Harvey Rohn
2001   Ted Karst
2016 Chris Ebreo

2017 Gay Septon

2018 Mel Hammock

Comments are closed.

Close It